Doc RefBP/1/12
Tree Ref (Click this to browse the collection catalogue)BP/1/12
Box Ref No.1980 (boxes 1-2)
Extent2 boxes
Title1980 prize papers
NotesThe award ceremony was held on 21 October 1980.
The shortlisted authors were:
William Golding with the winning novel 'Rites of Passage', published by Faber & Faber,
Anthony Burgess with 'Earthly Powers', published by Hutchinson,
Anita Desai with 'Clear Light of Day', published by Heinemann,
Alice Munro with 'The Beggar Maid', published by Allen Lane,
Julia O'Faolain with 'No Country for Young Men', published by Allen Lane,
Barry Unsworth with 'Pascali's Island', published by Michael Joseph, and
J. L. Carr with 'A Month in the Country', published by Harvester.
The Judges were Professor David Daiches (Chair), Ronald Blythe, Margaret Forster, Claire Tomalin, and Brian Wenham.
ArrangementArranged into subseries of different record types
Access statusPartial closure
Add to My Items