Doc RefBP/3
Tree Ref (Click this to browse the collection catalogue)BP/3
Extent14 boxes
TitleBooker International Prize papers
ArrangementArranged chronologically by prize year. The prize year is taken to be the period of time between each year's award ceremony. Papers relating to a specific prize year are predominantly kept together regardless of the date the papers were produced. Papers concerning no prize year in particular, or more than one prize year, are kept with material relating to the prize year within which the papers were produced.
Administrative HistoryThe Booker International Prize was initially awarded every two years in recognition of the work of an author of any nationality whose work is available in English. The first prize was awarded in 2005. There was also a separate prize for translation into English, the winner of which is chosen by the winning author.

In July 2015 it was announced that the Prize was to join with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize. The new prize is awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK, and the prize money is split equally between the author and translator.
Related MaterialSee also BP/1/37- (2005-present) for advisory committee minutes which contain reference to the administration of the International Prize. Please note that advisory committee papers are closed for 20 years.
Access statusOpen
Add to My Items