RepositoryOxford Brookes University
DocRefFirst Chapter Series
TreeRefFirst Chapter Series
Extent8 items
TitleFirst Chapter Series, Booker Prize
DescriptionIndividually numbered volumes containing the first chapter of one of seven Booker Prize winning novels, each signed by the author and featuring specially chosen artwork. The volumes have each been hand bound in cloth, in a colour close to that of the original cover design.
The volumes include the first chapter of the following Booker Prize winning novels:
'Life and Times of Michael K' by J. M. Coetzee, featuring specially commissioned original artwork by South African artist, Colbert Mashile.
'Disgrace' by J. M. Coetzee, featuring a print by South African artist Jo Ractliffe.
'Holiday' by Stanley Middleton, featuring a watercolour painted by the author himself.
'The Conservationist' by Nadine Gordimer, featuring three copper plate etchings by South African artist Cyril Coetzee.
'Sacred Hunger' by Barry Unsworth, featuring woodcut illustrations specially commissioned from artist Ezequiel Mabote.
'The Blind Assassin' by Margaret Atwood, featuring a drawing by Yoko Ono.
'The Line of Beauty' by Alan Hollinghurst, featuring a print by the Turner Prize winning artists Gilbert & George.
'Possession' by A.S. Byatt, featuring a print by artist David Royle.
AccessConditionsThe collection may be viewed in the special collections reading room only.
CreatorNameOak Tree Fine Press
AdminHistoryOak Tree Fine Press, established in 2005, is a privately owned publishing company based in Oxfordshire that specializes in producing high quality books, featuring work by the world’s greatest authors and artists. All profits from the sale of the books go to organisations assisting children living with, or affected by, HIV/AIDS.
The First Chapter Series was launched in April 2006 as an initiative of Nobel laureate and Booker Prize winner J. M. Coetzee. The series is comprised of contributions by authors of the first chapter of their Booker Prize winning novels, with each book being published as a limited signed edition with specially commissioned original artwork.
CustodialHistoryDonated by Oak Tree Press
ArchNoteCollection level description by Eleanor Possart, 2009.
Related MaterialSee also the Papers of the Booker Literary Prizes.
See also Papers of P H Newby, winner of the Booker Prize for Fiction in 1969.
See also copies of the Booker Prize winners' novels, available for reference in the main library.
Literary prizes
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021