Ref NoDCS/2/4/5
TitleMARS Group (part 3)
Admin/Biog HistoryThe MARS Group (Modern Architectural Research Group) was founded in 1933 by a group of architects and critics including Wells Coates, E. Maxwell Fry, P. Morton Shand, H. de Cronin Hastings and John Gloag. The group was also joined by Amyas Connell, Basil Ward and Colin Lucas along with others including F. Skinner, Godfrey Samuel, Berthold Lubetkin, John Betjeman, F.R.S. Yorke, Cyril Sweet and Geoffrey Boumphrey. The group was formed to be a think tank for British modernisn and MARS produced plans and exhibitions until it disbanded in 1957.
DescriptionContains research material relating to MARS Group including:

-A course outline and bibliography giving details of lectures for a course entitled 'British Architecture 1925-51' run by Sharp in 1981
-Photocopies of articles, dated 1934-1938, relating to MARS Group ad British architecture
-Notes probably written by Sharp relating to MARS Group and the work of its members, Unit One, CIAM (International Congresses of Modern Architecture), and the Modern Movement of the 1920s
-Letter from Sharp to Dr Martin Steinmann, CIAM Archive, dated August 1970, relating to CIAM and the English wing of this organisation
Extent1 file
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2019